Kurt Bucholz Award

The Kurt Bucholz Conservation Award is named for the late Dr. Kurt Bucholz, DVM, one of the Stock Growers Land Trust’s early supporters who, along with his wife Laura, ranched in Carbon County. For many years Dr. Bucholz devoted countless hours to his county and state. He demonstrated a keen understanding of state and local water issues, and was adamant about protecting the upper North Platte Valley’s vital and historic water rights. A rare cancer claimed Kurt’s life in December 2006. The Stock Growers Land Trust and Laura Bucholz created the Kurt Bucholz Conservation Award in 2008 to be presented annually to an individual who exemplifies Kurt’s conservation values, particularly those that center on protecting and nourishing Wyoming’s working ranches.

The Bucholz award honoree receives a bronze statue sculpted by Wyoming artist Jerry Palen that depicts the Stock Growers Land Trust horse and rider logo.

Past recipients are Mike Healy (2013), Bob Budd (2012), Jim Chant (2011), Joe Glode (2010), Dr. John Lunt (2009) and Dennis Sun (2008).

Award2013cropped small 146x150 Kurt Bucholz Award
Kurt Bucholz award BW1 150x120 Kurt Bucholz Award